© 2020 Queen City Pride Plainfield, NJ

“Four Centuries in a Weekend”

October 14, 2017

Four Centuries in a Weekend – Explore the Historic Sites of Union County

Take a journey into history! During this annual fall ritual, more than 30 historic sites in our county are open to the public – many offering special activities, demonstrations, exhibits and events. Some sites offer refreshments.

 

Plainfield Own, Check out all the historic sites

in New Jersey with our own first!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Nathaniel Drake House, headquarters of the Historical Society of Plainfield, was built in 1746. Nestled within the towers and slate roof is the original farmhouse once used as George Washington’s headquarters during the Battle of Short Hills, June 25, 1777.

 

In 1864, John S. Harberger, a New York City bank president, enlarged and embellished the house in the Victorian style, making it his summer home during Plainfield’s development as a commuter suburb.

Today, period rooms portray both the farm life of the Drakes and the suburban life of the Harbergers. Significant American paintings, folk art, period furniture and decorative pieces make this site a museum of both history and art.

 

 

 

602 West Front St, Plainfield

(908) 755-5831

www.drakehouseplainfieldnj.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share on Facebook
Please reload

RECENT POSTS

November 27, 2019

November 11, 2019

November 5, 2019

October 31, 2019

Please reload